Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
Literary Timeline Six Novel Ideas My Favorite Novel Elements of the Novel Top Novel Lists About the Program
Navigate through 200 years of the American Novel using scrollable tools and pulldown menus.
Use these pulldown menus to read more about novels, authors & movements.
Edward P. Jones Return to the Timeline
Edward Jones
Edward P. Jones, 53, of Arlington, seen Sept. 21, 2004, in Washington, was one of 23 recipients of a $500,000 MacArthur Foundation "genius grant," announced September 28, 2004. Jones, whose book "The Known World" about a black slave owner won this year's Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

AP/MacArthur Foundation, Matt Houston
Edward P. Jones was born in Washington, D.C. in 1950. He attended the local public schools and won a scholarship to Holy Cross College. Seven years after he graduated from college, he earned his M.F. A. at the University of Virginia.

After a series of jobs, he began working for a tax newsletter, first as a proof reader and then eventually as a columnist, a position he held for more than ten years. During this time Jones kept on writing. His first short story was published in ESSENCE in 1976. Since then he has had stories published in THE NEW YORKER, THE PARIS REVIEW, PLOUGHSHARES and CALLALOO. He has taught creative writing at the University of Virginia, George Mason University, the University of Maryland, and Princeton University.

Edward Jones' first collection of short stories, LOST IN THE CITY, was published in 1992 and won the PEN/Hemingway Award, was short-listed for the National Book Award, and was the recipient of a Lannan Foundation Award.

Jones' first novel, THE KNOWN WORLD (2003), received the 2004 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, and he was named a MacArthur fellow for 2004.

ALL AUNT HAGAR'S CHILDREN, his latest collection of short stories, was published in 2006.

Biography of Edward P. Jones provided by HarperCollins Publishers and is used with permission.

Previous | Next

The American Novel