Egypt's Golden Empire
Home New Kingdom Special Features The Series Resources For Educators
1600 1550 1500 1450 1400 1350 1300 1250 1200
  Mummy of Ramesses II

The mummified body of Ramesses II
  1212 BC - Ramesses II dies
Ramesses dies aged 93, after a reign of 67 years. As so few were alive before he became pharaoh, many think it will cause the world to end.

ca. 1212-1079 BC - Ramesses' dynasty rules
A dynasty of pharaohs, up to Ramesses XI, continues the legacy of Ramesses the Great. Egypt is never again as powerful as under Ramesses II.

1079 BC - Ramesses XI dies: ends New Kingdom
The death of Ramesses XI in 1079 marks the end of the New Kingdom. Egypt is once again divided.

Ahmose Amenhotep I Tuthmosis I Tuthmosis II Hatshepsut Tuthmosis III Amenhotep II Tuthmosis IV Amenhotep III Akenhaten Tutankhamen Ramesses III Back to Special Features
Egypt's Golden Empire Timeline