What do you think? Leave a respectful comment.

FILE PHOTO: People participate in a "MeToo" protest march for survivors of sexual assault and their supporters in Hollywoo...

2018 Pulitzer Prizes go to #metoo coverage, Kendrick Lamar and more

The winners of the annual Pulitzer Prize awards in journalism and the arts were announced Monday, and coverage of the Harvey Weinstein scandal and the resulting #metoo fallout led the way with a joint win for the Public Service Prize for The New Yorker and The New York Times.

Ronan Farrow of The New Yorker, and Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey of the New York Times were recognized for their work on sexual harassment in the workplace, stemming from decades-long allegations against Weinstein and the culture of complicity that allowed the misbehavior to continue in Hollywood. The resulting investigations led to additional dives into sexual harassment and assault allegations in many other industries.

Also noteworthy was Kendrick Lamar winning the Pulitzer Prize for Music for “DAMN.” The critically acclaimed album, released last year, was recognized for “capturing the complexity of modern African-American life,” according to the Pulitzer site. Lamar is the first non-jazz or classical artist to receive this award.

Other major stories of the year were highlighted, including the Washington Post’s investigation on Republican Roy Moore’s sexual misconduct allegations during the Alabama Senate race, coverage of Russian election interference by the Washington Post and the Times, and local coverage of the historic wildfires that raged in California earlier this year.

“Their work is real news of the highest order, executed nobly as journalism was always intended, without fear or favor,” said Dana Canedy, administrator of the Pulitzer Prizes. before announcing the award recipients.

Canedy spoke of the “seemingly relentless assault” on freedom of the press and the work journalists must still do to maintain trust and goodwill, as well as to expand coverage and perspectives.

The awards are broken into 21 categories under the groupings of Journalism and Letters, Drama and Music.

The awards were established in 1917 by Joseph Pulitzer, a newspaper publisher of the 19th century who is viewed as the founder of modern journalism.

See the full list of 2017’s winners here:


Public Service –
The New York Times, for reporting led by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, and The New Yorker, for reporting by Ronan Farrow

Breaking News Reporting – Staff of The Press-Democrat, Santa Rosa, Calif.

Investigative Reporting – Staff of The Washington Post

Explanatory Reporting – Staffs of The Arizona Republic and USA Today Network

Local Reporting – The Cincinnati Enquirer Staff

National Reporting – Staffs of The New York Times and The Washington Post

International Reporting – Clare Baldwin, Andrew R.C. Marshall and Manuel Mogato of Reuters

Feature Writing – Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah, freelance reporter, GQ

Commentary – John Archibald of Alabama Media Group, Birmingham, Ala.

Criticism – Jerry Saltz of New York magazine

Editorial Writing – Andie Dominick of The Des Moines Register

Editorial Cartooning – Jake Halpern, freelance writer, and Michael Sloan, freelance cartoonist, The New York Times

Breaking News Photography – Ryan Kelly of The Daily Progress, Charlottesville, Va.

Feature Photography – Photography Staff of Reuters


Letters, Drama and Music

Fiction – “Less,” by Andrew Sean Greer (Lee Boudreaux Books/Little, Brown and Company)

Drama – “Cost of Living,” by Martyna Majok

History – “The Gulf: The Making of an American Sea,” by Jack E. Davis (Liveright/W.W. Norton)

Biography – “Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder,” by Caroline Fraser (Metropolitan Books)

Poetry –“Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016,” by Frank Bidart (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

General Nonfiction – “Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America,” by James Forman Jr. (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Music – “DAMN.,” by Kendrick Lamar