What do you think? Leave a respectful comment.

Brad Leithauser

Poet and novelist Brad Leithauser was born in 1953 in Detroit, Mich. He is the author of five books of poetry, “Hundreds of Fireflies” (1982); “Cats of the Temple” (1986); “The Mail from Anywhere” (1990); “The Odd Last Thing She Did” (1998); and “Curves and Angles” (2006); five novels, “Equal Distance” (1985); “Hence” (1989); “Seaward” (1993); “The Friends of Freeland” (1997); and “A Few Corrections” (2001); and a novel in verse, “Darlington’s Fall” (2002). He is also co-author of a book of light verse, “Lettered Creatures,” a collaboration with his brother, artist Mark Leithauser.

Leithauser teaches at Mount Holyoke College, where he is Emily Dickinson Senior Lecturer in the Humanities, a position he shares with his wife, poet Mary Jo Salter. “As a poet, I’m very interested in structures and what you might call the mathematics of poetry, the prosody of poetry, the stuff that is as independent of meaning as anything in a poem can be independent of meaning,” says Leithauser.

A graduate of Harvard University and Harvard Law School, Leithauser has received many awards, including a Guggenheim Fellowship and a MacArthur Fellowship.

Transcript: Brad Leithauser

Brad Leithauser reads three more poems in this web exclusive.

Support for Poetry Provided By:

Support for Poetry Provided By:

Latest News