Pulitzer Winners Announced

The New York Times was awarded the national reporting prize for an ambitious series on race in America and the beat reporting prize for David Cay Johnston’s exposure of loopholes and inequities in the U.S. tax code. The Oregonian, the Chicago Tribune and The Wall Street Journal also won two prizes each.

The Miami Herald won the breaking news category for coverage of the pre-dawn raid by federal agents who took custody of Cuban boy Elian Gonzalez. Alan Diaz of The Associated Press took the breaking news photography award for his photo of a federal agent in riot gear confronting a man holding Elian in a closet.

Two prizes were awarded in international reporting. Ian Johnson of The Wall Street Journal won for stories about the Chinese government’s suppression of the Falun Gong movement. The Chicago Tribune’s Paul Salopek, who won in 1998 for his explanatory reporting of the human genome project, won for reporting on political strife and disease in Africa.

Other winners:

Public service: The Oregonian for examination of systematic problems with the Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Investigative reporting: David Willman of the Los Angeles Times won for an expose of unsafe drugs that had been approved by the Food and Drug Administration.

Explanatory reporting: the staff of the Chicago Tribune won for “Gateway to Gridlock” about the American air traffic system.

Feature writing: Tom Hallman Jr. of Portland’s Oregonian for a profile of a facially disfigured teen-ager who underwent surgery.

Commentary: Dorothy Rabinowitz of The Wall Street Journal for articles on American society and culture.

Criticism: Gail Caldwell of The Boston Globe for observations on contemporary life and literature.

Editorials: David Moats of the Rutland (Vt.) Herald for editorials on civil unions for gay couples.

Editorial cartooning: Ann Telnaes of the Los Angeles Times Syndicate.

Feature photography: Matt Rainey of The Star-Ledger of Newark, N.J. for photographs of the care and recovery of two students burned in a fire at Seton Hall University.

Each winner receives $7,500, except for the public service award, for which the winning newspaper receives a gold medal.