Same-sex marriage now recognized in six additional states

The United States federal government will now recognize same-sex married couples in Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia, and Wyoming, Attorney General Eric Holder announced on Saturday.

“With each new state where same-sex marriages are legally recognized, our nation moves closer to achieving of full equality for all Americans,” Holder said in a statement.

The announcement comes one week after Holder stated that same-sex married couples in seven states, including, Colorado, Indiana, Nevada and Oklahoma, would now be recognized by the federal government.

Same-sex married couples in these states will now be eligible for social security and veterans benefits.

Nearly three weeks ago, the Supreme Court declined to hear appeals on lower-court rulings that struck down bans on gay marriage in states including Virginia and Utah, reported Reuters.

Same-sex marriage is now recognized in 32 states and the District of Columbia.

Support PBS NewsHour: