Educators Selected for PBS NewsHour Teacher Workshop

Washington, D.C. (June 5, 2015) – The PBS NewsHour Student Reporting Labs program (@reportinglabs) has announced the selection of 32 educators to participate in its annual teacher workshop held in the nation’s capital. These teachers and program leader will work alongside public media mentors to produce original news stories. They will also help program leaders develop curriculum to engage young people in news and public affairs, and ensure that the youth voice is active in all conversations about the critical issues facing the nation.

“Passionate educators are the glue that hold this program together,” said Leah Clapman, managing editor of education for the PBS NewsHour. “Every year we discover new ways to expand and improve SRL, with the most innovative and effective ideas coming straight from the teachers on the front lines.”

The 2015 SRL Teacher Workshop participants (in alphabetical order):  
Renee Aalund, Turtle Mountain Community High School
Jason Burchard, Vista PEAK Preparatory
Karen Davis, Miami Country Day School
Kristopher Doran, Trumbull Career & Technical Center
Mary Dunn, Pleasure Ridge Park High School
Mark Eaton, T.C. Williams High School
Rakeda Ervin, Manor High School
Victor Fernandez, Alonzo and Tracy Mourning Senior High
James Flanagan, Fraser High School
Justin Ford, Park Hill South and Park Hill High School
Clint Gima, Maui High School
Gina Gray, Dalton Middle School
Donna Griffin, Arsenal Technical High School
Alan Humbert, West Roxbury Academy
Heather Jancoski, South Mountain High School
Susan Johnson, Richwood High School
Bernadine Judson, Etiwanda High School
Neena Kumar, Legacy Charter School
Chris Lazarski, Wauwatosa West High School
Brandon Lopez, Archbishop Coleman F. Carroll High School
Louis Mazza, The Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush
Richard McGhee, Suitland High School
Lila Michael, Bozeman High School
Jesse Norfleet, Midpeninsula Community Media Center
Jennifer Overdevest, West Ranch High School
Christopher Schwalm, Cedar Crest High School
Melissa Sherman, Hughes STEM High School
Kerry Smith, Hinkley High School
Belinda Stark, Hardin County Schools: Central, John and North Hardin High Schools
Cynthia Stoker, Jersey Village High School
Carrie Swaim, Immanuel Lutheran Christian Academy
Shonda Tindall, Mesquite ISD Technology Excellence Center
Heidi Whitus, Communications Arts High School

To learn more about the participants, please visit the official SRL 2015 Teacher Workshop Tumblr.

Media Contacts
Thaisi Da Silva, Producer/Program Coordinator:
Nick Massella, Director of Audience Engagement and Communications:

About Student Reporting Labs
Student Reporting Labs connect middle and high school students with public media stations to produce original news reports that explore how critical national issues impact local communities. Visit PBS NewsHour’s Student Reporting Labs on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.           
About PBS NewsHour                                                                                  
PBS NewsHour is seen by over four million weekly viewers and is also available online, via public radio in select markets, and via podcast. PBS NewsHour is a production of NewsHour Productions LLC, a wholly-owned nonprofit subsidiary of WETA Washington, D.C., in association with WNET in New York. Major funding for PBS NewsHour is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, PBS and public television viewers. Major corporate funding is provided by BAE Systems, BNSF and Lincoln Financial Group with additional support from Carnegie Corporation of New York, the J. Paul Getty Trust, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, the Lemelson Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, National Science Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, Friends of the NewsHour and others. More information on PBS NewsHour is available at On social media, visit on Facebook or follow @NewsHour on Twitter.