PBS NewsHour Holds Sixth Annual Teacher Workshop

Washington, D.C. (July 17, 2017) –  PBS NewsHour Student Reporting Labs (@reportinglabs) is excited to announce the selection of 28 educators who will be traveling to the nation’s capital for our annual teacher workshop.

Educators representing schools in 18 states will take part in this two-day professional development opportunity from July 26 to 28. These teachers will work alongside the Student Report Labs team and other public media mentors to learn best practices for implementing SRL’s video journalism and media literacy curriculum during the 2017-2018 academic year. They will also help national program leaders create innovative resources to engage young people in news, public affairs, and conversations about critical issues facing the nation.

“The workshop provides a unique space for like-minded educators to come together and share ideas on how to best communicate and execute the mission of SRL,” said Leah Clapman, managing editor of education for the PBS NewsHour. “They return to their classrooms able to lead their students in producing stories about important issues from unique youth perspectives.”

The 2017 SRL Teacher Workshop participants (listed alphabetically by last name):

Leah Aiwohi, Kauai High School, Lihue, HI

Burke Behne, Lewis and Clark Middle School, Omaha, NE

David Boardman, Mid-Maine Technical Center, Waterville, ME 

Allison Burroughs, Brunswick County Academy, Supply, NC

Anita Crouch, Cass Technical High School, Detroit, MI

Mary Dunn, Pleasure Ridge Park High School, Louisville, KY

Damien Gaudet, Blackstone-Millville Regional High School, Blackstone, MA

Jackson Gzehoviak, Omaha Public Schools, Omaha, NE

Wade Harman, Entrada Draper Campus, Sandy, UT

Melissa Heilig, Forestview High School, Gastonia, NC

Lisa Holewa, Racine Montessori School, Racine, WI

Alan Humbert, West Roxbury Academy, West Roxbury, MA

James Hummel, Edward R. Roybal Learning Center, Los Angeles, CA

Bernadine Judson, Etiwanda High School, Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Mary Kvebak, Detroit Lakes High School, Detroit Lakes, MN

Diana Tuten, The STEM Academy at Bartlett, Savannah, GA

Karin McKemey, Fort Mill High School, Fort Mill, SC

Ryanne Meschkat, Canyon High School, Canyon Country, CA

Trina Moore, Spring High School, Spring, TX

Altamese Osborne, Aldine Senior High School, Houston, TX

John Parham, Amphitheater High School, Tucson, AZ

Duane Pierre, Hartford Journalism and Media Academy, New Britain, CT

Frances McMahon Ward, Xavier College Preparatory, Phoenix, AZ

Christine Yee, Brighton High School, Cottonwood Heights, UT

Bernice Young, Oakleaf High School, Orange Park, FL

Melissa Zumbach, G2S Academy, Scottsville, MI

Eresha Kassoon, Computer School, New York, NY

Kathy Kraemer, Fridley Public Schools, Fridley, MN

About Student Reporting Labs

Student Reporting Labs provides middle and high schools with a unique video journalism curriculum, teacher professional development, mentorship and relationships with local public media stations to produce original stories that explore how critical national issues impact communities around the country. Visit PBS NewsHour’s Student Reporting Labs on Facebook or follow us on Twitter. Major support is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, American Graduate: Let’s Make it Happen, the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health Science Education Partnership Award.                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

About PBS NewsHour                                                                                  

PBS NewsHour is seen by over four million weekly viewers and is also available online, via public radio in select markets, and via podcast. PBS NewsHour is a production of NewsHour Productions LLC, a wholly-owned nonprofit subsidiary of WETA Washington, D.C., in association with WNET in New York. Major corporate funding is provided by BNSF, with additional support from Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, Carnegie Corporation of New York, the J. Paul Getty Trust, the S.D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Lemelson Foundation, National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, The PEW Charitable Trusts, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Ford Foundation, Skoll Foundation, The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Friends of the NewsHour and others. More information on PBS NewsHour is available at pbs.org/newshour. On social media, visit NewsHour on Facebook or follow @NewsHour on Twitter.

Media Contact

Elis Estrada, Director, Student Reporting Labs: eestrada@newshour.org