FRONTLINE Announces 2021 Journalism Fellows


From left to right: Taylor Eldridge; Aasma Mojiz

October 7, 2021
Anne Husted Series Publicity Manager, FRONTLINE

The fellowships are generously funded by the Abrams Foundation and The Tow Foundation.

BOSTON, MA — October 7, 2021 — This fall, FRONTLINE (PBS) will welcome its newest class of journalism fellows: Aasma Mojiz, Abrams Journalism Fellow, FRONTLINE/Columbia Journalism School Fellowship, and Taylor Elizabeth Eldridge, Tow Journalism Fellow.

Mojiz and Eldridge represent FRONTLINE’s seventh cohort of journalism fellows. In their year-long fellowships, they will pursue and report stories for the award-winning investigative series, resulting in transmedia projects and contributing to upcoming documentaries. Their fellowships are generously supported by The Tow Foundation and the Abrams Foundation.

Mojiz joins FRONTLINE after receiving her master’s degree in journalism from Columbia University in August 2021. Prior to grad school, she spent more than five years as a sub-editor and reporter at Dawn, Pakistan’s legacy English-language daily newspaper based in Islamabad. There, she covered topics including human and digital rights, with full-page stories on the legality of child marriages and drug testing among high school and college students. Mojiz graduated with a bachelor’s degree from the U.K.’s University of Nottingham in 2015. Her FRONTLINE/Columbia Journalism School fellowship is supported by the Abrams Foundation.

Eldridge first came to FRONTLINE in January 2021 as a contract data journalist working on Shots Fired, an upcoming documentary in partnership with The Salt Lake Tribune. Her prior work has appeared in The Washington Post, Vox and The New Yorker, and has earned her an Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award. Originally from Buffalo, N.Y., Eldridge was previously the data editor for Type Media Center and completed an Ida B. Wells Fellowship with Type, as well as an investigative fellowship with The Marshall Project. She received her master’s degree in investigative journalism from Columbia University in 2017 and her bachelor’s from Yale in 2016. Eldridge’s fellowship is supported by The Tow Foundation.

“For the past seven years, our fellows from Columbia Journalism School have served as essential fixtures in our reporting ranks, bringing to our newsroom fresh perspectives and a hunger for unearthing the truth,” says FRONTLINE Executive Producer Raney Aronson-Rath. “We’re so grateful to the Abrams Foundation and The Tow Foundation for their steadfast support and commitment to the next generation of investigative journalists.”

“Our partnership with FRONTLINE” is becoming a crown jewel of our efforts to connect graduates with nonprofit newsrooms and first jobs that provide deep, public interest reporting experience,” says Steve Coll, dean of Columbia Journalism School. “These are highly sought-after positions. We’re excited for the latest fellows and proud equally of the journalism Columbia and FRONTLINE have done together, including our recent Peabody-winning film on voter suppression.”

Uncovering stories and using boundary-pushing, platform-first approaches to telling them, FRONTLINE Journalism Fellows have played a key role in FRONTLINE’s ongoing work to meet audiences where they are across the evolving digital landscape.

FRONTLINE, U.S. television’s longest running investigative documentary series, explores the issues of our times through powerful storytelling. FRONTLINE has won every major journalism and broadcasting award, including 100 Emmy Awards and 26 Peabody Awards. Visit and follow us on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube to learn more. FRONTLINE is produced at GBH in Boston and is broadcast nationwide on PBS. Funding for FRONTLINE is provided through the support of PBS viewers and by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. Major funding for FRONTLINE is provided by the Ford Foundation. Additional funding is provided by the Abrams Foundation; the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation; Park Foundation; and the FRONTLINE Journalism Fund with major support from Jon and Jo Ann Hagler on behalf of the Jon L. Hagler Foundation and additional support from Koo and Patricia Yuen.

The Abrams Foundation, based in Boston, was founded by Amy and David Abrams in 1997. Its mission is to nurture creative, deeply informed communities, while promoting equity and fairness. Grant making is concentrated in three areas: journalism and narrative, arts and creativity, and access and opportunity.

The Tow Foundation, established in 1988 by Leonard and Claire Tow, funds projects that offer transformative experiences to individuals and create collaborative ventures in fields where they see opportunities for breakthroughs, reform, and benefits for underserved populations. Investments focus on the support of innovative programs and system reform in the fields of juvenile and criminal justice, medicine, higher education, and culture. For more information, visit

About Columbia Journalism School
For more than a century, the Columbia Journalism School has been preparing journalists in programs that stress academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened in 1912 and offers Master of Science, Master of Arts, Master of Science in Data Journalism, a joint Master of Science degree in Computer Science and Journalism, The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism and a Doctor of Philosophy in Communications. It houses the Columbia Journalism Review, the Brown Institute for Media Innovation, The Tow Center for Digital Journalism, The Ira A. Lipman Center for Journalism and Civil and Human Rights, The Simon and June Li Center for Global Journalism, the Craig Newmark Center for Journalism Ethics and Security, and the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma. The school also administers many of the leading journalism awards, including the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, the John Chancellor Award, the John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma, Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award, the Mike Berger Awards and the WERT Prize for Women Business Journalists.

Press Contact:
Anne Husted, FRONTLINE | 617.300.5312 |

In order to foster a civil and literate discussion that respects all participants, FRONTLINE has the following guidelines for commentary. By submitting comments here, you are consenting to these rules:

Readers' comments that include profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, harassment, or are defamatory, sexist, racist, violate a third party's right to privacy, or are otherwise inappropriate, will be removed. Entries that are unsigned or are "signed" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. We reserve the right to not post comments that are more than 400 words. We will take steps to block users who repeatedly violate our commenting rules, terms of use, or privacy policies. You are fully responsible for your comments.

blog comments powered by Disqus