FRONTLINE (PBS) Wins Two Edward R. Murrow Awards


August 17, 2021
Anne Husted Manager, Public Relations & Communications, FRONTLINE

The Radio Television Digital News Association announced today that FRONTLINE has been honored with two Edward R. Murrow Awards, recognizing the award-winning PBS series’ innovative storytelling and audio journalism.

The Virus at Sea – FRONTLINE’s interactive documentary revealing the harrowing story of one man’s experience trapped aboard a cruise while COVID-19 ravaged the ship — won the Murrow Award in the “Excellence in Innovation” category.

Told through cruise passenger Brendt Reil’s social media posts, photos, videos, journal entries, and text messages, The Virus at Sea elucidates the human cost of decisions made by cruise operators and governments in the earliest days of the coronavirus pandemic. The interactive was reported and produced by Katie Worth, designed by Dan Nolan, built by Anthony DeLorenzo and video edited by Miles Alvord.

I’m Not A Monster, FRONTLINE’s 10-part podcast series in collaboration with BBC Panorama and BBC Sounds won the Murrow Award in the “Podcast” category.

Hosted, written and reported by Josh Baker, I’m Not A Monster follows Baker’s years-long reporting expedition to uncover the truth about an American family’s journey from Indiana to the self-proclaimed ISIS caliphate and back. I’m Not A Monster is produced by Max Green and Joe Kent, and the production assistant is Lucie Sullivan. Additional production is from James Edwards. Earlier this year, the audio series was honored with an Ambie Award and a Webby Award.

“We are so pleased to see both our experimental and audio storytelling recognized by the Radio Television Digital News Association with these Edward R. Murrow Awards,” says Raney Aronson-Rath, executive producer of FRONTLINE. “We are grateful to editorial podcast partners at the BBC, in addition to GBH, PBS and CBP for supporting our commitment to investigative journalism in all forms”

According to the Murrow Award’s site, the awards honor outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism, recognizing reporting that “demonstrate[s] technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community.”

This year’s Murrow Award-winners will be honored on October 27 at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in New York. You can read a full list of this year’s winners here.

In order to foster a civil and literate discussion that respects all participants, FRONTLINE has the following guidelines for commentary. By submitting comments here, you are consenting to these rules:

Readers' comments that include profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, harassment, or are defamatory, sexist, racist, violate a third party's right to privacy, or are otherwise inappropriate, will be removed. Entries that are unsigned or are "signed" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. We reserve the right to not post comments that are more than 400 words. We will take steps to block users who repeatedly violate our commenting rules, terms of use, or privacy policies. You are fully responsible for your comments.

blog comments powered by Disqus