Here’s the full list of 2017 Pulitzer Prize winners

The Pulitzer Prize awards for excellence in journalism and the arts produced in 2016 were awarded at 3 p.m. EST Monday. This is the 101st year of the contest.

There are 14 categories for journalism, included reporting, photography, cartooning, criticism and commentary, and seven categories for the arts, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama and music.

The New York Daily News and ProPublica won the award for public service for its investigation into abuses in the New York City Police Department’s enforcement of eviction laws, which disproportionately affected poor communities. The award for breaking news reporting went to the East Bay Times, for its coverage of a fire in Oakland, California, at an art warehouse known as Ghost Ship. The Washington Post’s David Fahrenthold won the national reporting award for his coverage of the charitable giving practices of then-presidential nominee Donald Trump, for which he employed the help of Twitter.

[WATCH: Oakland’s horrific fire leads to worries for other warehouses]

[WATCH: Donald Trump hasn’t donated to his own foundation since 2008, investigation finds]

“In recent years the focus has been on the decline of newspapers large and small,” said Pulitzer Prize Administrator Mike Pride, who announced the winners. “Yet the work that wins Pulitzer prizes reminds us that we are not in a period of decline in journalism. Rather we are in the midst of a revolution.”

The New York Times won the most Pulitzers, including one for its international reporting on Russian president Vladimir Putin’s efforts to spread Russia’s influence abroad, and another for C.J. Chivers’ feature writing on a Marine’s post-war descent into violence. A third prize went to a freelance photographer Daniel Berehulak, who won for his photo essay on the drug crackdown in the Phillipines, which appeared in the Times.

In the arts, Colson Whitehead won the fiction prize for his novel “The Underground Railroad,” which blended fantasy with tragic American history. In the history category, Heather Ann Thompson won for “Blood in the Water,” an account of the 1971 prison uprising at Attica, whose inmates seized the prison to demand better living conditions.

Watch our conversation with Colson Whitehead:

Watch our conversation with Heather Ann Thompson:

Lynn Nottage’s “Sweat,” a story of an industrial town in decline, won for best drama. And the book “Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City,” which exposed troubling eviction practices in the U.S., won for best nonfiction.

Watch our conversation with Lynn Nottage:

Watch our conversation with Matthew Desmond:

The full list of 2017 winners:

In journalism

Public Service: New York Daily News and ProPublica, for its investigation into NYPD eviction enforcement practices
Breaking News Reporting: The staff of the East Bay Times, for its coverage of the Ghost Ship warehouse fire
Investigative Reporting: Eric Eyre, from the Charleston Gazette-Mail, for his reporting on the flood of opioids into West Virginia
Explanatory Reporting: The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and The Miami Herald, for its reporting on offshore tax havens in the Panama Papers
Local Reporting: The Salt Lake Tribune staff, for its coverage of sexual assault on campus
National Reporting: David Fahrenthold of the Washington Post, for his coverage of the charitable giving practices of then-presidential nominee Donald Trump
International Reporting: The New York Times staff’s reporting on Russian president Vladimir Putin’s efforts to spread Russia’s influence abroad
Feature Writing: C.J. Chivers’ feature writing on a Marine’s post-war descent into violence.
Commentary: Peggy Noonan of the Wall Street Journal, for her columns during the divisive presidential campaign
Criticism: The New Yorker’s Hilton Als, for his reviews on the subjects of gender, sexuality and race
Editorial Writing: Art Cullen of The Storm Lake Times, for his editorials challenging corporate interests in Iowa
Editorial Cartooning: Jim Morin of The Miami Herald, for his prose and wit
Breaking News Photography: Daniel Berehulak, a freelance photographer, for his photos of violence in the Philippines
Feature Photography: E. Jason Wambsgans of the Chicago Tribune, for his photography of a 10-year-old boy after surviving a shooting

In books, drama & music

Fiction: “The Underground Railroad,” by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday), for exploring the country’s history of slavery in both realism and allegory
Drama: “Sweat,” by Lynn Notttage, which explored workers in an industrial town searching for the American dream
History: “Blood in the Water” by Heather Ann Thompson (Pantheon), which explored the 1971 Attica prison uprising and police brutality
Biography or Autobiography: “The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between,” by Hisham Matar (Random House), an elegy for home and a father
Poetry: “Olio,” by Tyehimba Jess, for its exploration of memory, race and identity
General Nonfiction: “Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City,” by Matthew Desmond, which investigated the mass evictions in the U.S. after the financial crash
Music: “Angel’s Bone” by Du Yun, an operatic work about human trafficking