What do you think? Leave a respectful comment.

South Dakota polls closing an hour later than scheduled

liveblog

South Dakota polls are closing an hour later than planned. Photo by Flickr user Ken Lund

South Dakota polls are closing an hour later than planned. Photo by Flickr user Ken Lund

No results from the much-watched South Dakota U.S. Senate race will be released until an hour after the polls were originally planned to close. South Dakota Secretary of State Jason Gant tells PBS NewsHour that results will be released starting at 10 p.m. EST (9 p.m. CT) rather than at the state’s poll closing time of 9 p.m. EST (8 p.m. CT) because a polling place in Shannon County opened an hour late this morning.

State law requires that polling places be open at least 12 hours on Election Day.

Latest News