Gold & GloryFilmHistoryMusicClassroomDiscussion
Timeline Sweepstakes Cities Sweepstakes News Sweepstakes Drivers Home

Select a year to see more information:

1924 | 1925 | 1926 | 1927 | 1928 | 1929 | 1930 | 1931 | 1932 | 1933 | 1935 | 1936

July 4, 1929 - Indiana State Fairgrounds, Indianapolis, Indiana

Winner: Barney Anderson – Model A Ford – Avg. Speed = 67.22 mph

Second Place: Charlie Wiggins – Wiggins Special

Entrant City Car (Type)
Barney Anderson Detroit, MI Model A Ford
Garland Brooks Terre Haute, IN Miss Terre Haute Special
“Bugger” Burns Washington Court  
  House, OH Rajo Ford Special
Bill Carson Chicago, IL Essex Special
Lawrence Dawson Indianapolis, IN Duesenberg
Wilbur Gaines Chicago, IL Frontenac
Eddie Grice* Dallas, TX Fronty Ford
Charles Hill Windfall, IN Goodyear Special
Bill James Indianapolis, IN Graham Special
“Wild Bill” Jeffries Chicago, IL Fronty Ford
D. Montague Detroit, MI Spencer Special B.V.S.
Rodney Morris Washington Court  
  House, OH Rajo Special
Brooks Patterson Indianapolis, IN Fronty Ford
H. Robertson Terre Haute, IN Frontenac
W. Russ Philadelphia, PA Russ Special
Jack “Long Shot” Sargent St. Louis, MO Recorder Special
Billy Schaffer Chicago, IL Duesenberg Special
Gene Smith Chicago, IL Elgin Piston Pin Special
M. Threlkeld Chicago, IL Fronty Ford
Bobby Wallace Indianapolis, IN Chevrolet Special
William Walthall Chicago, IL Walthall Special
“Toots” Washington Pittsburgh, PA Clearing House Special
Charlie Wiggins Indianapolis, IN Wiggins Special
Lawrence Wiggins Indianapolis, IN Gilley Special


* Eddie Grice was killed in an accident in lap 27. He was the only fatality ever listed in the Gold and Glory Sweepstakes.

Copyright © 2003 Metropolitan Indianapolis Public Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy  |  Feedback  |  Credits

WFYI IndianapolisProduced by: Indianapolis Motor SpeedwaySponsored by: Indiana Humanties Council