Gold & GloryFilmHistoryMusicClassroomDiscussion
Timeline Sweepstakes Cities Sweepstakes News Sweepstakes Drivers Home

Select a year to see more information:

1924 | 1925 | 1926 | 1927 | 1928 | 1929 | 1930 | 1931 | 1932 | 1933 | 1935 | 1936

September 20, 1936 - Indiana State Fairgrounds, Indianapolis, Indiana

A thirteen-car pileup marred the 1936 running of the Gold and Glory Sweepstakes, injuring several drivers and threatening the life of racing great Charlie Wiggins. The accident occurred on the fourth turn of the second lap of the race. The event, scheduled for a hundred miles, had been shortened to fifty, due to a delay caused by a controversy over the admission of a midget car into the field, as well as another to allow paramedics to rescue drivers wounded at the crash scene.

Chicago’s Bill Carson, aboard a Boyle Valve Special, won the abbreviated event at an average speed of 57.69 miles per hour. Sumner “Red” Oliver was awarded second-place honors.

Entrant City Car (Type)
Hudson Andrews Indianapolis, IN R&R V-8 Special
Garland Brooks Terre Haute, IN Black Tom Special
Percy Brown Indianapolis, IN Fronty Ford Special
Bill Carson Chicago, IL Boyle Valve Special
Hollis Ford Indianapolis, IN Dreyer Special
Spencer Freeman Detroit, MI Freeman Special
Wilbur Gaines Chicago, IL Ford Special
Ed Hill Kokomo, IN Fountain Cooney Special
Bill James Indianapolis, IN Stewart Radio Special
Robert LaSallica Cleveland, OH Barr Special
Sumner “Red” Oliver Dayton, OH Studebaker Special
Leonard Powell Chicago, IL Schropp Special
Andy Pryor Indianapolis, IN Ob Special
Paul Richmond Indianapolis, IN Rajo Special
Henry Rogers Indianapolis, IN R&W Special
Charles “Dynamite” Stewart Indianapolis, IN Schofield Special
Frank Toy Cleveland, OH Hal Special
Fred Toy Paoma, OH Hal Special
“Klondike” Tucker Chicago, IL unknown
Bobby Wallace Indianapolis, IN Dreyer Special
Johnny Wand Indianapolis, IN Fronty Ford
Leon “Al” Warren Indianapolis, IN DeSoto 6 Special
Nolan Webb Indianapolis, IN Fronty Ford Special
Charlie Wiggins Indianapolis, IN Wiggins Special
Fred Wilson Detroit, MI Hal Special
Herb Woods Detroit, MI Miller Schofield Special

Copyright © 2003 Metropolitan Indianapolis Public Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy  |  Feedback  |  Credits

WFYI IndianapolisProduced by: Indianapolis Motor SpeedwaySponsored by: Indiana Humanties Council