Mark Twain Prize 2018 - Julia Louis-Dreyfus

The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor salutes Julia Louis-Dreyfus. The program premiered Monday, November 19 at 9 p.m. ET on PBS stations nationwide. The special, recorded at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on October 21, features a star-studded cast of Louis-Dreyfus’ friends, admirers and collaborators including Stephen Colbert, Bryan Cranston, Tina Fey, Ilana Glazer, Tony Hale, Abbi Jacobson, Keegan-Michael Key, Kumail Nanjiani, and Jerry Seinfeld. The evening pays tribute to the humor and accomplishments of the television icon.

Louis-Dreyfus earned worldwide acclaim for her portrayal of Elaine Benes in the hit NBC series Seinfeld, and as Christine Campbell in the CBS hit comedy The New Adventures of Old Christine. She currently stars in, and executive produces, the HBO series Veep. Between all shows combined, she has received 11 Emmy awards (six consecutively for Veep) with 24 nominations, a Golden Globe award, nine Screen Actors Guild awards which makes her the most decorated actor in the history of the SAG awards, three Television Critics Association awards, five American Comedy Awards, a Peabody Award, and the Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy. She has broken the record for the most Emmy’s won by a single performer, as well as the most consecutive wins for a single role (Veep.)

Julia Louis-Dreyfus: The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize is a production of Done + Dusted, The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and WETA Washington, D. C. Copyright © 2018 The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and WETA Washington, D.C. Executive Producers are Dalton Delan for WETA, Deborah Rutter for The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, David Jammy and Rick Austin for Done + Dusted. Producers are Chris Convy, Michael Matuza and Bill Urban.  Director is Troy Miller.  

Corporate funding is provided by Capital One. Major funding is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and PBS. Air travel is generously provided by American Airlines.

Mark Twain Prize Logo - 2018


About the Award

About the Award

The history behind the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

Previous recipients

Previous recipients

From Eddie Murphy to Richard Pryor - the complete list of Mark Twain Prize winners.

"Humor must not professedly teach, and it must not professedly preach, but
it must do both if it would
live forever."
— Mark Twain

Support your local PBS station