Karin  Agness Sabrina Schaeffer Eleanor  Smeal
Jennifer  Marshall Joy-Anne Reid Megan Beyer
Dorothy Height Patrice Lee Michele  Bachmann
Bay Buchanan Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO) Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
Cynthia Nixon Lilly Ledbetter Maria Teresa Kumar
Jillian Michaels Shelby Knox Marlene Trestman
Mandy Moore Hadley Heath Sarah McBride
Rep. Yvette  Clarke (D-NY) Melinda Gates Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

To The Contrary Panelists

« Back to Panelists

Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton


Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, now in her twelfth term as the Congresswoman for the District of Columbia, is the Ranking Member of the House Subcommittee on Highways and Transit. She serves on two committees: the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform and the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

Before her congressional service, President Jimmy Carter appointed her to serve as the first woman to chair the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. She came to Congress as a national figure who had been a civil rights and feminist leader, tenured professor of law, and board member at three Fortune 500 companies. Congresswoman Norton has been named one of the 100 most important American women in one survey and one of the most powerful women in Washington in another. The Congresswoman's work for full congressional voting representation and for full democracy for the people of the District of Columbia continues her lifelong struggle for universal human and civil rights.

See More: http://norton.house.gov/about/full-biography

Support for pbs.org provided by:

The Host

About the Host - Bonnie Erbé

To The Contrary Host: Bonnie Erbé

Bonnie Erbé is a nonpartisan, award-winning American journalist and television host based in the Washington, D.C. area who has ...

More »