Skip to main content
About PBS
PBS LearningMedia and The Henry Ford Announce the 2012 Teacher Innovator Award Winners
Email share

30 PreK-12 educators recognized for outstanding use of digital media to enhance student learning

ARLINGTON, VA, April 2, 2013 – Today PBS LearningMedia, a free digital media service for classrooms, and The Henry Ford announced the winners of the third-annual Teacher Innovator Awards. The Teacher Innovator Awards recognize 30 PreK-12 educators from across the country who are using digital media in new and unique ways to improve students’ learning across key subject areas. 

“Across the nation, educators at every level of school are embracing digital media more than ever to engage students in the arts, math, reading, science and social studies to inspire higher achievement and better performance,” said Rob Lippincott, Senior Vice President, Education Strategy and Partnerships, PBS. “PBS, our member stations and forward-thinking partners at The Henry Ford are proud to recognize thirty outstanding educators for their innovative approaches to advancing learning in classrooms nationwide.”

“We congratulate the thirty winners who innovatively created exemplary digital lesson plans to ignite 21st century learners and salute all the participating teachers for their passion and dedication towards education,” said Paula Gangopadhyay, Chief Learning Officer for The Henry Ford. “We look forward to welcoming the finalists for the Innovation Immersion Workshop at The Henry Ford this summer.”

Judges, who were previous year’s winners, selected winners from five grade level categories (PreK, K-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12) and across five subject areas (arts, math, reading, science and social studies). Winners were chosen based on submissions of videos or written essays with supporting images that addressed how they are using digital media to bring lessons to life in classrooms.

The 2012 Teacher Innovator Award winners include:

First place
-Kelley Beall, Hillsborough County School District, Tampa, FL, Science/PreK  (WEDU)
-Suzanne Bowman, MaST Community Charter School, Philadelphia, PA, Social Studies/Grades 6-8 (WHYY)
-Lynn Dempsey, Lexington Elementary School, Lexington, SC, Math/Grades 3-5 (South Carolina ETV)
-Jennifer Lewis, Indian Knoll Elementary School, Canton, GA, Reading/Grades 6-8 (Georgia Public Broadcasting)
-Lynn Miller, Madison-Ridgeland Academy, Madison, MS, Arts/Grades 9-12 (Mississippi Public Broadcasting)
-Jeff Pribble, Escambia High School, Pensacola, FL, Science/Grades 9-12  (WSRE)
-Mark Rogers, Meridian School, Round Rock, TX, Math/Grades 9-12 (KLRU)
-Lori Russell, Meadow Glen Elementary School, Lexington, SC, Reading/Grades K-2 (South Carolina ETV)
-Debbie Sasson, The Epstein School, Sandy Springs, GA, Social Studies/Grades 6-8 (Georgia Public Broadcasting)
-Bryan Zevotek, Carthage Middle School, Carthage, NY, Science/Grades 6-8 (WPBS)

Second place
-Radio Cremata, Aspira, Miami, FL, Arts/Grades 6-8 (WPBT)
-Jason Firestein, Cleveland Humanities Magnet, Reseda, CA, Reading/Grades 9-12 (KLCS)
-Bonnie Lasorsa, Wareham Middle School, Wareham, MA, Math/Grades 6-8 (WGBH)
-Tracey Maccia, Middlesex County Vocational & Technical Schools, East Brunswick, NJ, Science/Grades 9-12 (NJTV)
-Vickie Morrissey, The da Vinci Academy, Colorado Springs, CO, Arts/Grades 3-5 (Rocky Mountain PBS)
-James Rees, Provo High School, Provo, UT, Arts/Grades 9-12 (KBYU)
-Erin Stanfill, Burley Elementary, Chicago, IL, Social/Grades PreK (WTTW)
-Karen Waller, Timber Drive Elementary, Garner, NC, Social Studies/Grades K-2 (UNC-TV)
-Andrew Wheelock, Erie 1 BOCES / WNYRIC, West Seneca, NY, Social Studies/Grades 6-8 (WNED)
-Joshua Worthy, Sonora Elementary, Springdale, AR, Science/Grades 3-5 (AETN)

Third place
-Lee Butterfield, Goldenview Middle School, Anchorage, AK, Reading/Grades 6-8 (Alaska Public Media)
-Emile Frey, Ruston High School, Ruston, LA, Science/Grades 9-12 (Louisiana Public Broadcasting)
-Reggie Grant, Lincoln High School, Tallahassee, FL, Science/Grades 9-12 (WFSU)
-Ronda Hassig, Harmony Middle School, Overland Park, KS, Social/Grades 6-8 (KCPT)
-Andrea Hobbs, Sumter County Elementary Math, Science, and Technology Academy, Americus, GA, Social Studies/Grades 3-5 (Georgia Public Broadcasting)
-Carli McKenney, Catherine Cook School, Chicago, IL, Science/PreK (WTTW)
-Emily Molnar, Westgate Elementary School, Falls Church, VA, Reading/Grades K-2 (WETA)
- Suzanne Scotten, E.V. Cain STEM Charter Middle School, Auburn, CA, Reading/Grades 6-8 (KVIE)
-Lisa Smith, Big Pinehurst School (Home School), Asheville, NC, Arts/Grades 6-8 (UNC-TV)
-Jaime Worrall, Christa McAuliffe Middle School, Boynton Beach, FL, Math/Grades 6-8 (WXEL)

In recognition of their efforts, first place winners will receive a unique weeklong “Innovation Immersion Experience” at The Henry Ford from July 27 to August 2, 2013, a free online professional development course from PBS TeacherLine, an award plaque and a gift bag from PBS and The Henry Ford. Second place winners will receive a Promethean Acti-view Document Camera, an award pin and a gift bag from PBS and The Henry Ford. Lastly, third place winners will receive an award pin and gift bag from PBS and The Henry Ford.

PBS LearningMedia is © 2012 PBS & WGBH Educational Foundation - All rights reserved.


About PBS LearningMedia
As America’s largest classroom, teachers of children from pre-K through 12th grade turn to PBS for digital content and services that help bring classroom lessons to life. PBS LearningMedia, a partnership of PBS and WGBH Educational Foundation, is a free media-on-demand service available to educators nationwide.  It brings together the best of public media and delivers research-based, classroom-ready rich media experiences that engage students in exploring curriculum concepts that align with National and Common Core State Standards. Drawing from critically acclaimed PBS programs such as NOVA, Frontline, American Experience and PBS KIDS programs like Sid The Science Kid, as well as content from organizations including The National Archives Smithsonian, NPR, and NASA, the free service offers teachers access to more than 20,000 videos, images and articles to enrich classroom instruction. Nationwide, more than 850,000 teachers have registered access to PBS LearningMedia. More information about PBS LearningMedia is available at, or by following PBS LearningMedia on Twitter and Facebook.

About The Henry Ford
The Henry Ford, in Dearborn, Michigan, is the world’s premier history destination and a National Historic Landmark that celebrates American history and innovation. Its mission is to provide unique educational experiences based on authentic objects, stories and lives from America’s traditions of ingenuity, resourcefulness and innovation. Its purpose is to inspire people to learn from these traditions to help shape a better future. Five distinct attractions at The Henry Ford captivate more than 1.5 million visitors annually: Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village, The Ford Rouge Factory Tour, The Benson Ford Research Center and The Henry Ford IMAX Theatre. The Henry Ford is also home to Henry Ford Academy, a public charter high school which educates 485 students a year on the institution’s campus and was founded in partnership with The Henry Ford, Ford Motor Company and Wayne County Public Schools. For more information please visit our website

Media Contact:
Melissa Mills, PBS, 703.739.8134,
Meredith Gandy, 360PR, 646.568.3238,