Skip to main content
About PBS
PBS LearningMedia Announces Teachers Selected for the 2015 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators Program
Email share

100 Innovative K-12 Educators Recognized for their Use of Digital Media and Technology in Classrooms Across the U.S. and U.S. Territories

Arlington, VA, April 8, 2015 – PBS LearningMedia, the on-demand digital media service from PBS offering over 100,000 digital resources for educators, today announced the 100 educators selected for the 2015 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators program. The program, which is in its third year, recognizes tech-savvy K-12 educators who are serving as leaders in the education technology space and incorporating digital media in classrooms.

“This is one of the most exciting times of the year, as we unveil the new teachers who will join PBS LearningMedia and local PBS stations as Digital Innovators,” said Alicia Levi, Vice President, PBS Education. “We received submissions from exemplary educators from across the country, and are thrilled to honor this group of teachers who are bringing innovation to the classroom every day and to provide them with professional development opportunities and resources that will continue to elevate them in today’s 21st century classrooms.”

The 2015 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators will receive year-long professional development opportunities that include virtual trainings, access to premium and exclusive resources from PBS LearningMedia Custom service, invitations to special events, and access to a free PBS TeacherLine professional development course. PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators will also receive ongoing support in their community from their local PBS member stations.

In addition, the top 30 applicants will serve as leads of the program and will receive an all-expense paid trip to Philadelphia to participate in the 2015 PBS LearningMedia Digital Summit and the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) conference. All Lead PBS Digital Innovators will also receive a Samsung Galaxy(R) tablet to continue their use of technology in the classroom.

The 2015 Lead PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators are listed below. The full list of PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators is available at

• Amanda Haughs - Forest Hill Elementary, San Jose, California (KQED)

• Jessica Anderson - Powell County High School, Deer Lodge, Montana (Montana PBS)

• Jennifer Beach - Clemmons Elementary, Clemmons, North Carolina (UNC TV)

• Peter Bohacek - Henry Sibley High School, Mendota Heights, Minnesota (Twin Cities PBS)

• Jeffrey Bradbury - North Brunswick Twp. High School, Pennsauken, New Jersey (NJTV)

• Patricia Brown - Old Bonhomme Elementary, Saint Louis, Missouri (Nine Network)

• Kymberli Bryant - Spruce Mountain High School, Jay, Maine (MPBN)

• Susan Cintra - Madison Central High School, Berea, Kentucky (KET)

• Sharon Clark - East Side Intermediate, Brownsville, Tennessee (WLJT)

• Paul Eyler - Tyler ISD, Lindale, Texas (KERA)

• Shelly Fryer - Positive Tomorrows, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (OETA)

• Trapper Hallam - Eisenhower High School, Shelby Township, Michigan (Detroit Public TV)

• Michael Hernandez - Mira Costa High School, Los Angeles, California (PBS SoCal)

• Cindy Herren - Brookview Elementary, West Des Moines, Iowa (IPTV)

• Vicky Hsieh - Environmental Charter School at Frick Park, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (WQED)

• Stephani Itibrout - Medina High School, Medina, Ohio (WVIZ/IdeaStream PBS)

• Jennifer Judkins - Lynnfield Public Schools, Lynnfield, Massachusetts (WGBH)

• Amanda Kruysman - Gold Hill Middle School, Fort Mill, South Carolina (SCETV)

• Brandi Leggett - Prairie Ridge Elementary School, Shawnee, Kansas (KCPT)

• Bonnie McClelland - Albany Avenue Elementary School, North Massapequa, New York (WNET/WILW)

• Clara Pena - Kirtland Middle School, Kirtland, New Mexico (New Mexico PBS)

• Robert Pennington - Roton Middle School, Norwalk, Connecticut (CPTV)

• Faith Plunkett - Monte Sano Elementary, Huntsville, Alabama (Alabama PBS)

• Deb Ramm - Sarah Dyer Barnes, Johnston, Rhode Island (Rhode Island PBS)

• Jennifer Schlie-Reed - Stocker Elementary School, Kenosha, Wisconsin (WI Media Lab)

• Kyle Schulenborg - Towne Meadow Elementary, Carmel, Indiana (Indiana PBS)

• Allie Segura - St. George's Episcopal School, New Orleans, Louisiana (LPB)

• Pasha Souvorin - Phoenix High School, Atlanta, Georgia (GPB)

• Bobbi Starling - Woodland Elementary School, Dade City, Florida (WEDU)

• Peter Van Lindblom - Math & Science Academy, Chicago, Illinois (WTTW)


PBS LearningMedia received hundreds of applications from leading teachers throughout the U.S. and its territories. Judges selected the 100 educators based on submissions of videos and written essays that addressed how they are creatively using digital technology and tools in the classroom to drive student achievement.

About PBS LearningMedia

As America’s largest classroom, PBS offers digital content and services for teachers of children from pre-K through 12th grade that help bring classroom lessons to life. PBS LearningMedia, a partnership of PBS and WGBH Educational Foundation, is a free and paid media-on-demand service offering educators access to the best of public media and delivers research-based, classroom-ready digital learning experiences to engage students in exploring curriculum concepts that align with National and Common Core State Standards. Nationwide, more than 1.6 million educators and users have registered access to more than 100,000 digital resources available through PBS LearningMedia. More information about PBS LearningMedia is available at or by following PBS LearningMedia on Twitter and Facebook.


# # #

Media Contact:

Atiya Frederick, PBS; 703.739.5147;

Meredith Gandy, 360 Public Relations; 415.610.4067;