Skip to main content
About PBS
PBS Programs Win Seven of the Eight Peabody Documentary Awards
Email share

On April 16, 18 and 23 the Peabody Awards Board of Jurors announced winners for the 78th Annual Peabody Awards honoring the most compelling and empowering stories released in broadcasting and digital media during 2018. PBS programs, including FRONTLINE “The Facebook Dilemma” and POV “Minding The Gap,” received ten total awards, including seven of the eight documentary awards.

“We are thrilled that PBS and our producing partners have been honored with 10 prestigious Peabody Awards,” said Paula Kerger, PBS President and CEO. “This recognition affirms that public television is America’s home for documentary storytelling.”

The Peabody Awards will be presented during a ceremony hosted by Ronan Farrow on May 18, 2019, at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City.  For a complete list of all Peabody Award winners, visit A complete list of PBS Peabody Winners follows.

We congratulate our programs and producers!


Documentary Winners

AMERICAN MASTERS “Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart”  (Co-produced by ITVS)

FRONTLINE “The Facebook Dilemma”


INDEPENDENT LENS “The Judge” (Co-produced by ITVS)


POV “Minding the Gap” (Co-produced by ITVS)

POV “The Apology”


News Winners

FRONTLINE “Separated: Children at the Border”

PBS NewsHour “The Plastic Problem”


Radio/Podcast Finalist

PBS NewsHour “Kept Out”