Skip to main content
About PBS
PBS Wins Two More Daytime Emmys at Televised Ceremony
Email share

- PBS Ties With CBS for Second Place in Overall Number of Daytime Wins -
- PBS Once Again Wins More Emmys for Its Children's Series Than Any Network -
- ARTHUR Wins Outstanding Children's Animated Program for the Third Time -
- READING RAINBOW Named Outstanding Children's Series -

New York, NY - May 21, 2001 - PBS children's series picked up two more honors at the 28th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards presented at Radio City Music Hall and broadcast live on NBC on Friday, May 18. The two wins, combined with the 11 Emmys announced May 14 at the Creative Craft Event, brings PBS's total number of awards to 13 to tie with CBS for second place in overall number of Daytime Emmy wins.

Of the 13 Emmy wins, 12 were for PBS KIDS® shows, making PBS the industry leader in children's programming. PBS won more Emmys for its children's series than any other network.

ARTHUR, based on the popular children's books by Marc Brown, was named Outstanding Children's Animated Program, making this win the series' third in the category. READING RAINBOW, now in its 18th season, won the Emmy for Outstanding Children's Series. READING RAINBOW won two Emmys, for Outstanding Performer in a Children's Series (LeVar Burton) and Outstanding Achievement in Single Camera Photography (Film or Electronic). The series has won a total of 16 Emmys.

Complete List of PBS Daytime Emmy Winners
- Alphabetically -

Producers: WGBH Boston and CINAR Corporation

* Outstanding Children's Animated Program
Carol Greenwald, Executive Producer; Peter Moss, Executive Producer; Cassandra Schafhausen, Producer; Lesley Taylor, Producer; Marc Brown, Producer; Geoff Adams, Producer; Pierre Valette, Coordinating Producer; Joe Purdy, Writer; Peter K. Hirsch, Writer; Kathy Waugh, Writer; Dietrich Smith, Writer; Bruce Akiyama, Writer; Greg Bailey, Director; Debra Toffan, Director

Producers: The Lyons Group and Connecticut Public Television

* Outstanding Achievement in Live and Direct to Tape Sound Mixing
Ron Balentine, Production Mixer; David Boothe, Re-Recording Mixer; Gary French, Re-Recording Mixer

Producers: WGBH Boston and Sirius Thinking, Ltd.

* Outstanding Achievement in Single Camera Editing
Vinny Straggas, Editor; Laura Cheshire, Editor; Jordan Montiminy, Editor

* Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design
Jim Fenhagen, Production Designer; Eric Ulfers, Production Designer; Laura Brock, Art Director; Martin Fahrer, Set Decorator; David Harwell, Scenic Designer

* Outstanding Achievement in Main Title Design
Randall Balsmeyer, Title Designer; Amit Sethi, Graphic Artist; Daniel Leung, Graphic Artist; Matthew McDonald, Graphic Artist

Producer: A La Carte Communications and distributed to PBS member stations by American Public Television (APT)

* Outstanding Service Show Host
Julia Child & Jacques Pepin, Co-Hosts

Producers: Great Plains National/Nebraska ETV Network, WNED Buffalo and Lancit Media Entertainment, Ltd., a JuniorNet Company

* Outstanding Children's Series
Twila C. Liggett, Executive Producer; Levar Burton, Executive Producer; Larry Lancit, Supervising Producer; Cecily Truett, Supervising Producer; Orly Wiseman, Supervising Producer; Stacey Raider, Producer; Nicole Silver, Producer; Ed Wiseman, Producer; Nan Schweiger, Producer; Don Boswell, Producer

* Outstanding Performer in a Children's Series
LeVar Burton, as LeVar Burton

* Outstanding Achievement in Single Camera Photography (Film or Electronic)
Kevin Lombard, Director of Photography; Ari Haberberg, Director of Photography; Joel Shapiro, Director of Photography

Producer: Sesame Workshop

* Outstanding Pre-School Children's Series
Michael Loman, Executive Producer; Arlene Sherman, Co-Executive Producer; Kevin Clash, Co-Executive Producer; Melissa Dino, Producer; Karen Ialacci, Coordinating Producer; Carol-Lynn Parente, Producer

* Outstanding Writing in a Children's Series
Lou Berger, Head Writer; Molly Boylan, Writer; Sara Compton, Writer; Annie Evans, Writer; Chrissy Ferraro, Writer; Judy Freudberg, Writer; Tony Geiss, Writer; Ian James, Writer; Emily Kingsley, Writer; David Korr, Writer; Sonia Manzano, Writer; Joey Mazzarino, Writer; Cathi Rosenberg-Turow, Writer; Adam Rudman, Writer; Nancy Sans, Writer; Luis Santeiro, Writer; Josh Selig, Writer; Belinda Ward, Writer; John Weidman, Writer; Mo Willems, Writer

* Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design/Styling
Bill Kellard, Costume Designer; Terry Roberson, Costume Designer; Ed Christie, Costume Designer, Muppets; Stephen Rotondaro, Costume Designer, Muppets; Carol Binion, Costume Designer, Muppets; Michelle Hickey, Costume Designer, Muppets; Tom Newby, Costume Designer, Muppets; Alex L. Ferguson, Costume Designer, Muppets; Erin Slattery, Costume Designer, Muppets; Michael Schupbach, Costume Designer, Muppets; Karena Wienands, Costume Designer, Muppets; Fred Buchholz, Costume Designer, Muppets; Connie Peterson, Costume Designer, Muppets; Rollie Krewson, Costume Designer, Muppets; Jason Weber, Costume Designer, Muppets

Producers: CINAR Corporation in association with PBS and the Kratt Brothers Company

* Outstanding Directing in a Children's Series
Jacques Laberge, Director; Pierre Roy, Director

PBS, headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia, is a private, nonprofit media enterprise owned and operated by the nation's 347 public television stations. Serving nearly 100 million people each week, PBS enriches the lives of all Americans through quality programs and education services on noncommercial television, the Internet and other media. More information about PBS is available at


- PBS -

Donna Williams