What do you think? Leave a respectful comment.

Faces of China’s New Government

Updated March 5, 2013: China’s National People’s Congress begins its annual legislative session Tuesday, during which Xi Jinping officially will be elected as the country’s leader.

Original Story:

China unveiled its new Communist Party leadership Wednesday night. The top ruling body, known as the Politburo Standing Committee, is composed of seven members who will take charge in March:

President: Xi Jinping

Xi Jinping, who takes the place of outgoing President Hu Jintao, repeatedly called for a “great renewal” in his acceptance speech Wednesday night. Xi also was promoted to chairman of the Central Military Commission at a time when the country aspires to become a maritime power.

Premier: Li Keqiang

Replacing outgoing Premier Wen Jiabao, Li Keqiang will oversee all major economic decisions. According to the New York City-based consulting firm Eurasia Group, Li has long focused on social welfare and income inequality issues, such as changes to health care and affordable housing, rather than financial sector reforms.

Vice Premier: Wang Qishan

Wang Qishan, considered the most reform-minded of the new leaders, will lead the party’s anti-corruption effort as head of the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection. The party experienced a major scandal this year when the wife of Bo Xilai, party boss of southwestern Chongqing city, was accused of killing a British businessman. Bo faces possible charges of corruption and abuse of power.

Liu Yunshan

Liu Yunshan will become chief of China’s propaganda and censorship program.

Zhang Gaoli

Zhang Gaoli, the party boss of Tianjin, is expected to become the executive vice premier.

Zhang Dejiang

Zhang Dejiang, a North Korean-trained economist, is expected to lead the parliament.

Yu Zhengsheng

The party chief of Shanghai, Yu Zhengsheng, is slated to head the parliament’s advisory body.

Related Resources:

See more our World coverage and follow us on Twitter:

Latest News